Filing My ITax Revelation

KRADespite the system down time, I was eventually able to file my tax returns about a month ago. If we as Kenyans are good at anything it’s rushing the last minutes to do stuff otherwise we could have done within the past 6 months. Perhaps our lives are pretty much engaged in other trivial matters we consider filing our tax returns less important.

All in all, while submitting my taxes, I couldn’t help but learn a thing or two about my yearly income and how much I religiously give to the taxman. First off, it was a revelation in the sense that I make quite some good money over the year. My salary has always been picture-framed to my monthly expenses and never considered how much a year I get as net pay. Thanks to the improved technology behind Itax, it gave me not only the figures in simplified format, I was able to calculate exactly how much I pay as taxes yearly.

This being not only the first time I’m using Itax (and pretty every other Kenyan taxpayer), it’s also the first time I ever filed returns having being employed last year. But being the Frugal Kenyan I’m, this is both a eye-opener and an experience, am still working on ways on how to pick a leaf off this new development.

 

Till next time, peace. Stick to A Frugal Living!!